The West Bridgford School

A Specialist Technology Academy

Celebrating the Olympics and Paralympics 2012

Wednesday July 11th saw our last celebration lunch of the year. Sydney 2000 Olympics and Paralympics were memorable events for all Australians, and as part of our celebrations we had a themed Australian lunch.
And what a lunch it was - the ‘Aussie Burger’ or as it is more colloquially called ‘The Lot’.
This included:- a burger, fried egg, bacon, lettuce, onion, pineapple, beetroot, mayo and ketchup!!!
Very tricky to manoeuvre into the mouth, as some of our photos show. This was washed down with juice and the famous Anzac biscuit. (Apparently my mum used to make these post war, when ingredients were in short supply).
Lunch was accompanied by the dulcet tones of Rolf Harris singing about his ‘Didgeridoo’, as well as Kylie Minogue and other Australian greats. The Australian National Anthem was saluted by one young member of our school who actually saw the Olympic torch in both Sydney and Nottingham.

Meanwhile, outside, crowds gathered to watch the ‘Boing! Boing! Boing! Kangaroo Jump’ where Mr Kemp asked pupils:- ‘Do you wallaby a winner? A life size Kangaroo, complete with Joey, presided over the whole proceedings.
Pupils were challenged with a kangaroo jump, feet together and only 3 jumps, in order to beat the previous jumper.
The sun shone and we dreamt of Bondi Beach.

aust1aust5aust4aust2

aust3

Upcoming Events

May
29

8:30 am Mon 29 May 2017 - 2:45 pm Fri 02 June 2017

Jun
14

Wed 14 June 2017 8:30 am - 2:45 pm

Jun
20

Tue 20 June 2017

Jun
27

8:30 am Tue 27 June 2017 - 2:45 pm Wed 28 June 2017

Jul
13

Thu 13 July 2017

Jul
18

8:30 am Tue 18 July 2017 - 2:45 pm Sat 22 July 2017

Jul
24

8:30 am Mon 24 July 2017 - 2:45 pm Wed 26 July 2017

Moodle

wbsmoodleweb
 

WBS APP

MobHandScreen smallsept16
itunes app store logogoogle app store

GO 4 Schools

 
Go4School