The West Bridgford School

A Specialist Technology Academy

Beth Shalom Visit

On Tuesday 18th March Year 11 History students had a unique learning experience when they visited the Holocaust Memorial Centre, Beth Shalom. Beth DSCF1253Shalom translates as House of Peace from Hebrew. The students were thoroughly moved by the personal stories told by the Holocaust survivors , putting emotional content into the classroom statistics and bringing home the brutality of their experiences. The stories created many questions from the students. How did the views of one man cause the murder of son many? Why did the world allow such horrors to be inflicted on innocent people? What can we learn from the experience of the millions of people persecuted during the Holocaust. Following the talk the students had the opportunity to explore the thought provoking exhibition, the photographs, stories and displays brought the statistics to life, telling students about individual stories behind the facts and figures.   At the end of the visit a walk around the memorial garden gave the students a chance for quiet reflection. Each student placed a small stone on an ever growing pile to commemorate the life of a child lost during the Holocaust. It’s easy to forget the individuals that lost their lives during the barbaric genocide but Beth Shalom was a place where we could remember them.

Alex Markland and Lizzie Wood -Year 11

Upcoming Events

May
29

8:30 am Mon 29 May 2017 - 2:45 pm Fri 02 June 2017

Jun
14

Wed 14 June 2017 8:30 am - 2:45 pm

Jun
20

Tue 20 June 2017

Jun
27

8:30 am Tue 27 June 2017 - 2:45 pm Wed 28 June 2017

Jul
13

Thu 13 July 2017

Jul
18

8:30 am Tue 18 July 2017 - 2:45 pm Sat 22 July 2017

Jul
24

8:30 am Mon 24 July 2017 - 2:45 pm Wed 26 July 2017

Moodle

wbsmoodleweb
 

WBS APP

MobHandScreen smallsept16
itunes app store logogoogle app store

GO 4 Schools

 
Go4School