The West Bridgford School

A Specialist Technology Academy

School News Report Day

School Report

As playwright Tom Stoppard once said ‘I still believe that if your aim is to change the world, journalism is a more immediate short-term weapon.’. On 16th March 2017 30 students in Year 8 at the West Bridgford School got that rare opportunity to make their mark.

The students conscientiously prepared their topics in editorial meetings leading up to the day, and whilst they worked to always keep to the values of the BBC in being fair and impartial, they also got an opportunity to shed light on those issues that they felt were important. At 7:45am the students were desperately raring to go, with their microphones, carefully scripted interviews and BBC lanyards, they not only looked every bit the BBC reporter, but they were prepared too. Students didn’t shy away from controversial issues, covering debates such as uniform, animal rights and the importance of mental resilience. Students raced towards their 2pm deadline and even though it was hectic at times, all teams managed to get their broadcast uploaded on time which went live by 4pm.

A fantastic day was had by all and the students produced some impressive news broadcasts and articles.

Thank you to all staff that offered themselves up for interviews and to Ms Kane with helping support on the day. All reports are available on the School News Report blog- http://westbridgfordschoolreport.blogspot.co.uk/

 

Upcoming Events

May
29

8:30 am Mon 29 May 2017 - 2:45 pm Fri 02 June 2017

Jun
14

Wed 14 June 2017 8:30 am - 2:45 pm

Jun
20

Tue 20 June 2017

Jun
27

8:30 am Tue 27 June 2017 - 2:45 pm Wed 28 June 2017

Jul
13

Thu 13 July 2017

Jul
17

8:30 am Mon 17 July 2017 - 2:45 pm Fri 21 July 2017

Jul
24

8:30 am Mon 24 July 2017 - 2:45 pm Wed 26 July 2017

Moodle

wbsmoodleweb
 

WBS APP

MobHandScreen smallsept16
itunes app store logogoogle app store

GO 4 Schools

 
Go4School